Filing For Social Security In Tuscaloosa, Alabama


The Social Security Administration (SSA) has disability guidelines for all medical conditions. This means a person with kidney failure, who applies for disability, must meet certain criteria. First and foremost, the applicant must meet SSA’s standards for disability. Applicants must have a physical or mental condition where they will be unable to perform substantial gainful employment for twelve months, or the condition is terminal.

SSA grants disability benefits automatically in certain cases including,

* a person has the need for regular dialysis

* the person has completed a kidney transplant

* the person has high creatine levels and symptoms of damage

* the person has nephrotic syndrome.

People frequently need help with social security applications. If you are applying for Social Security in Tuscaloosa, try the services of Lewis, Smyth, Winter and Ford. Visit their website and you could check here about the firm’s experience and qualifications. Applicants who undergo a kidney transplant are entitled to twelve months of disability automatically, after the first year. The agency will re-evaluate the applicant after a year for ongoing entitlement. SSA considers things like kidney rejection episodes, frequency of infections and the side effects of drug treatment. In all cases, the agency evaluates evidence thoroughly. They want to see whether an applicant’s medical history documents progressive renal disease. Clinical evidence and lab work that shows kidney deterioration is also important. Dialysis patients must provide a doctor’s statement saying dialysis is required.

SSA looks at functional impairment if applicants don’t have one of the automatic conditions. Reviewers look for things like symptoms affecting someone’s ability to work. Routinely, the agency uses vocational experts to determine if an applicant can do some work. Applicants who are denied have different levels of appeal. The first appeal is a request for reconsideration. During this period, a new set of reviewers examines the applicant’s file. If someone is denied a second time, they may ask for a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge. Applicants finally get to present witnesses to substantiate their condition. The agency usually calls vocational and medical witnesses to testify. If you are denied at the hearing, ask your attorney about further opportunities for appeal.