If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI in DeKalb IL it is imperative that you seek legal representation immediately. Under Illinois state law, there are several areas that allow for challenging the evidence collected, including breathalyzer and blood test results as well as the actual testing procedures and whether or not you were illegally stopped or searched. The fines and penalties for driving under the influence in Illinois are some of the toughest in the nation. A well-respected and experienced DUI defense attorney can help you through your defense process. Under age DUIs, aggravated DUIs and multiple DUIs within a set period are serious offenses, and you need the best legal representation possible.
Underage Drinking And Driving
According to the Illinois State Police, while drivers under the age of 21 represent only 10% of licensed driver, they are involved in 17% of alcohol-related fatal crashes. If you or someone you know has been arrested for underage drinking and driving, seek immediate representation from an attorney specializing in DUI in DeKalb IL. The first under 21 DUI conviction can result in a $2,500 fine, imprisonment up to one year, and the loss of driving privileges for a minimum of two years. The second under 21 DUI conviction adds a mandatory five days of imprisonment or 240 hours of community service. The third under 21 DUI conviction is considered a Class 4 Felony and carries a mandatory 18-30 month imprisonment, with a possible extension of imprisonment for up to seven years, fine of up to $25,000, and a minimum of a ten-year loss of driving privileges. An underage DUI can significantly affect your life; seek immediate legal counsel.
Adult DUI Penalties
In Illinois, adults encounter stiff penalties, the possibility of imprisonment, and loss of driving privileges. For a first DUI conviction, state law provides for a minimum of one-year loss of driving privileges, possible imprisonment for up to one year, and a maximum fine of $2,500. The second DUI conviction in the state of Illinois requires a minimum of a five year loss of driving privileges for a second conviction that occurs within a twenty year period, imprisonment up to twelve months, and a maximum fine of $2,500. On the third DUI conviction, drivers lose a minimum of ten years of driving privileges, face a mandatory 18-30 month imprisonment that is extendable to up to seven years, and face a maximum fine of $25,000.
An Aggravated DUI is a Class 4 Felony under Illinois state law and is a result of a crash that results in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement. State law requires a minimum of one year loss of driving privileges, a mandatory of ten days imprisonment or 480 hours of community service, possible imprisonment for up to twelve years, and a maximum fine of $25,000. If you have been accused of Aggravated DUI, seek legal counsel in DeKalb IL immediately.
If you have been arrested and accused of driving under the influence, do not delay in contacting a DUI defense attorney. During this challenging time, it is vital that you have legal counsel that you can trust to help defend you from DUI in DeKalb IL.